Primary Content

The British Life Photography Awards are a unique visual celebration of British life, in all its richness and diversity, creating an enduring visual record of the spirit and essence of our nation. Whether an intimate portrait, a poignant moment, or sequence of innovative and illuminating images that tell an important story.

The awards recognises and showcases the work of established and emerging photographers, both professional and amateur, while also highlighting the relevance and importance of photography to raise awareness and inform.

Documenting daily life has been a tradition for over a century, so just like the great documentary photographers of the past and present, we want to encourage photographers to elevate the commonplace and familiar into something compelling or fascinating through the craft, creativity and discipline of photography.

The British Life Photography Awards have ten categories:

1.Rural Life
2. Street Life
3. Portraiture
4. Urban Life
5. Life at Work
6. Brits on Holiday
7. British Weather
8. Historic Britain
9. Documentary Series
10. Young British Life Photographer

The exhibition will be on display in the Royal Albert Hall’s Amphi Corridor, and can be viewed when attending a performance here between Friday 5 January and Monday 5 February, or on the following free open days:

Friday 5 January 2018: 9am – 5pm
Saturday 6 January 2018: 10am – 1pm
Sunday 7 January 2018: 10am – 1pm
Saturday 13 January 2018: 10am – 1pm
Sunday 14 January 2018: 10am – 1pm
Saturday 20 January 2018: 10am – 1pm
Sunday 21 January 2018: 10am – 1pm
Saturday 27 January 2018: 10am – 1pm
Sunday 28 January 2018: 10am – 1pm


Sponsored by Sony

Supported by Royal Photographic Society, Digital Photographer, Country Life Magazine and Kristal Digital Imaging.

The Royal Photographic Society