Primary Content

  • Details
    All Promming e-tickets for this concert have sold out.

    All remaining Promming tickets will be available from the Hall on the night. Learn more…

    Fresh from two remarkable Elgar recordings with his Staatskapelle Berlin, Daniel Barenboim launches this year’s cycle of Elgar symphonies with a performance of the First – a work of thrilling emotional contrasts and a slow movement of Mahlerian richness and beauty.

    He pairs it with one of the great Romantic violin concertos, once described by musicologist Donald Francis Tovey as ‘more original, more masterly and more exhilarating’ than any of its rivals, in which former BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist Lisa Batiashvili is the soloist.

  • Programme

    Violin Concerto in D minor 33’


    Symphony No. 1 in A flat major 52’

    Lisa Batiashvili violin

    Staatskapelle Berlin
    Daniel Barenboim conductor