Primary Content

  • Details
    All Promming e-tickets for this concert have sold out.

    All remaining Promming tickets will be available from the Hall on the night. Learn more…

    Daniel Barenboim and his Staatskapelle Berlin open three consecutive evenings in which a Mozart piano concerto is paired with a Bruckner symphony.

    ‘We shall never be able to do anything like that,’ proclaimed Beethoven when he heard Mozart’s dramatic, minor-key Piano Concerto No. 24. As with Mozart in his concertos, with each of Bruckner’s symphonies came a keener focus of vision and honing of craft.

    With the Fourth, Bruckner really came of age, bringing a newfound confidence in the glowing first movement, while its statuesque Andante is a moving premonition of loss.

  • Programme

    Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, K491 31’


    Symphony No. 4 in E flat major, ‘Romantic’ 69’

    Staatskapelle Berlin
    Daniel Barenboim piano/director