Primary Content

  • Details
    A limited number of Promming e-tickets (£7.12 including fees) will go on sale at 9am on the day of the concert.

    These PDF e-tickets guarantee entry to the Prom and are limited to one per person and must be printed at home or presented on your smartphone.

    Click here at 9am on Sunday 21 August to buy tickets These tickets sell very quickly so this page will show ‘not available’ when tickets are sold out.

    All other Promming tickets will be available from the Hall on the night. Learn more…

    Narcissus, the Thespian hunter who fell in love with his own image, inspired Matthias Pintscher to compose his own reflection on ‘the interaction of different groups and their mirror images’, a work for cello and orchestra.

    Pintscher conducts Reflections on Narcissus here before a semi-staged performance of Mendelssohn’s incidental music to A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

    Mendelssohn’s delicate, mercurial and strident music is interspersed with excerpts from Shakespeare’s text to form a centrepiece of this season’s celebrations of Shakespeare’s 400th anniversary.

  • Programme

    Matthias Pintscher
    Reflections on Narcissus 35’


    A Midsummer Night’s Dream – overture and incidental music 66’

    Alisa Weilerstein cello
    Katherine Broderick soprano
    Clara Mouriz mezzo-soprano
    Mark Benton Bottom
    Alex Hassell Oberon/Theseus
    Simon Manyonda Puck
    Sinead Matthews Hermia/Fairy/Mistress Quince
    Sam Swann Lysander/Snout/Philostrate
    Michelle Terry Titania/Hippolyta

    BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
    Finchley Children’s Music Group
    Matthias Pintscher conductor
    Bijan Sheibani stage director