Primary Content

This Prom will be broadcast for free at 19:30 BST.

Please note that it will not be possible to have an audience at the Royal Albert Hall for this concert.

Making his 75th appearance at the Proms, Sir Simon Rattle conducts his London Symphony Orchestra in a programme that explores the ideas of dialogue and space. The programme opens with Thomas Adès’s new work, Dawn, incorporating a piano into the ensemble, while Elgar’s Introduction and Allegro – written for an all-Elgar concert given by the LSO in 1905 – singles out a string quartet alongside the string orchestra, in the manner of a Baroque concerto grosso. And from the Baroque period come the brass Canzons by Giovanni Gabrieli, the 12 players arranged in separate ‘choirs’ which answer and collide with each other.

Alone at the piano, Mitsuko Uchida performs the famous first movement of Beethoven’s ‘Moonlight’ Sonata, which merges into Kurtág’s … quasi una fantasia …, which takes its title from the nickname of the pair of sonatas of which Beethoven’s ‘Moonlight’ is part. Creating an extraordinary sound palette, Kurtág explores ‘instrumental groups dispersed in space’ around the piano.

In his Fifth Symphony, Vaughan Williams was deepening the dialogue in his music between the folk and the symphonic. After hearing the work’s first performance – conducted by the composer at the Proms in 1943 – Adrian Boult (himself soon to become a key Proms figure) was prompted to write to Vaughan Williams: ‘Its serene loveliness is completely satisfying in these times and shows, as only music can, what we must work for when this madness is over’ – an observation as relevant today as it was then.


Thomas Adès
Dawn 7’
BBC commission: world premiere

Edward Elgar
Introduction and Allegro 14’

Giovanni Gabrieli
Sacrae symphoniae (1597) – Canzon septimi et octavi toni a 12 4’
(arr. Eric Crees)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Sonata in C sharp minor, Op. 27 No. 2 ‘quasi una fantasia’ (‘Moonlight’) – 1st movement 6’

György Kurtág
… quasi una fantasia … 9’

Giovanni Gabrieli
Sacrae symphoniae (1597) – Canzon noni toni a 12 3’
(arr. Eric Crees)

Vaughan Williams
Symphony No. 5 in D major 35’

Mitsuko Uchida piano
London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle conductor

9 ways you can support us

This extended closure has put the Royal Albert Hall, like many other venues, in a perilous situation.

Without shows on we have lost our major source of funding, but there remains a number of ways you can continue to support the Royal Albert Hall during this crisis: