Primary Content

A limited number of standing Promming tickets (£7.12 including fees) will go on sale at 9am on the day of the concert.

Click here at 9am on Monday 22 July to book. These can sell very quickly and it will show ‘not available’ when tickets are sold out.

Remaining Promming tickets will be available from the Hall on the day. Learn more…

Earthy, pagan dances meet the Music of the Spheres in this concert of 20th- and 21st-century orchestral works.

Stravinsky’s infamous ballet score The Rite of Spring pulses with rhythmic energy and urgency, while Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s luminous and intricately textured Metacosmos travels deep into space. At the centre of the programme is Britten’s elegiac Violin Concerto, written on the cusp of the Second World War.

Violinist James Ehnes joins Edward Gardner and musicians from both London’s Royal Academy of Music and New York’s Juilliard School.


Anna Thorvaldsdottir
Metacosmos 14’
UK premiere

Violin Concerto 32’

– interval –

The Rite of Spring 35’

James Ehnes violin

Orchestra of the Royal Academy of Music and The Juilliard School
Edward Gardner conductor