Primary Content

  • Details

    Although composed for the church, it is in the concert hall that the dramatic scale of Bruckner’s mighty Mass in F minor comes into its own.

    A new commission from Luke Bedford puts the Royal Albert Hall’s great organ in the spotlight, while opening the concert is Schubert’s ‘Tragic’ Symphony – a work whose heart-on-sleeve emotions are those of a composer still in his teens.

  • Programme

    Symphony No. 4 in C minor, ‘Tragic’ 29’

    Luke Bedford
    Instability c25’
    BBC commission: world premiere


    Mass No. 3 in F minor 59’

    Luba Orgonášová soprano
    Jennifer Johnston mezzo-soprano
    Robert Dean Smith tenor
    Derek Welton bass-baritone

    Orfeón Pamplonés
    BBC Philharmonic
    Juanjo Mena conductor