Primary Content

  • Details

    Tonight’s celebration of the sun-scorched landscapes of Spain opens with Falla’s flamenco ballet El amor brujo, rich in Andalusian folk melodies and featuring the famous ‘Ritual Fire Dance’.

    Joshua Bell is the soloist in Lalo’s Symphonie espagnole, whose title conceals a virtuosic violin concerto steeped in the sounds of Spain, while Cameron Carpenter takes to the organ console in Saint-Saëns’s mighty ‘Organ’ Symphony. ‘With it I have given all I could,’ observed the composer. ‘What I did I could not achieve again.’

  • Programme

    El amor brujo 24’

    Symphonie espagnole 34’


    Symphony No. 3 in C minor, ‘Organ’ 36’

    Stéphanie d’Oustrac mezzo-soprano
    Joshua Bell violin
    Cameron Carpenter organ

    Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Charles Dutoit conductor