Primary Content

  • Details

    A limited number of Promming e-tickets (£7.12 including fees) will go on sale at 9am on the day of the concert.

    These PDF e-tickets guarantee entry to the Prom and are limited to one per person and must be printed at home or presented on your smartphone.

    Book now
    These tickets sell very quickly so this page will show ‘not available’ when tickets are sold out.

    All other Promming tickets will be available from the Hall on the night. Learn more…

    Thomas Søndergård conducts his BBC National Orchestra of Wales in a Prom exploring the idea of the orchestral ‘passacaglia’ and some of the most delicious and subtle orchestral sonorities ever conjured.

    Brahms’s fourth and final symphony feels like the composer’s supreme orchestral achievement; its finale, a radiant passacaglia, is the summation of the composer’s quest to wed discipline and emotion.

    After Walton’s boisterous Partita comes the world premiere of the latest Proms cello concerto, a piece written by Huw Watkins and played by his brother.

  • Programme

    Partita 16’

    Huw Watkins
    Cello Concerto c25’
    BBC commission: world premiere


    Passacaglia 11’

    Symphony No. 4 in E minor 39’

    Paul Watkins cello

    BBC National Orchestra of Wales
    Thomas Søndergård conductor