Primary Content

  • Details

    Afternoon heat breeds musical languor in a Prom that drifts from Delius’s summer garden to the classical landscapes of Ravel’s lovers Daphnis and Chloe.

    Former BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist Mark Simpson is the soloist in anniversary composer Nielsen’s intimate, playful Clarinet Concerto.

    Hugh Wood’s Epithalamium is a new cantata that delights in John Donne’s sensuous and jubilant verse.

  • Programme

    In a Summer Garden 15’

    Nielsen Clarinet Concerto 24’


    Hugh Wood
    Epithalamium c25’
    BBC commission: world premiere

    Daphnis and Chloe – Suite No. 2 16’

    Mark Simpson clarinet

    BBC Symphony Chorus
    BBC Symphony Orchestra
    Sir Andrew Davis conductor