Primary Content

  • Details

    Refined but also profoundly expressive, Maria João Pires is one of the great Mozart interpreters of her generation. She returns to the Proms to continue our series of late Mozart piano concertos.

    No. 23 in A major boasts quasi-operatic melodies and deft woodwind colouring. It took musicians and audiences a long time to come to terms with Schubert’s ‘unplayable’ Ninth Symphony, but now – like that other great unplayable, Beethoven’s Ninth – it has won an unquestioned place in the repertoire.

  • Programme

    Overture in C major, ‘In the Italian style’ 9’

    Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major, K488 26’


    Symphony No. 9 in C major, ‘Great’ 51’

    Maria João Pires piano

    Chamber Orchestra of Europe
    Bernard Haitink conductor