Primary Content

  • Details

    Proms regular Edward Gardner continues this year’s Nielsen anniversary celebrations with the Flute Concerto – a work that expresses what Nielsen perceived as the instrument’s ‘Arcadian’ quality. This gentle, pastoral quality battles, however, with darker forces, characterfully symbolised by the bass trombone.

    Both Janáček’s Sinfonietta and Britten’s Sinfonia da Requiem are also vivid expressions of contrast – in mood, texture and colour.

    The five movements of the Sinfonietta are all scored for a different – and sometimes unlikely – combination of instruments, while the three episodes in Britten’s elegiac Sinfonia da Requiem paint different stages of mourning, from grief, to anger and finally an uneasy acceptance.

  • Programme

    Sinfonia da Requiem 21’

    Raymond Yiu
    Symphony c24’
    BBC commission: world premiere


    Flute Concerto 18’

    Sinfonietta 23’

    Andrew Watts counter-tenor
    Emily Beynon flute

    BBC Symphony Orchestra
    Edward Gardner conductor