Primary Content

  • Details

    Returning for a second appearance this summer, Andris Nelsons and the Boston Symphony Orchestra bring a piece of America with them in Barber’s Essay No. 2 – a symphony in miniature, moving from lyrical loveliness through contrapuntal conflict to end with a radiant chorale.

    They pair it with Haydn’s Symphony No. 90, where ebullient mischief and dignity vie for supremacy in sunny C major.

    Joy gives way to high drama, however, in Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 10 – a vivid portrait of Stalinist Russia.

  • Programme

    Symphony No. 90 in C major 24’

    Essay No. 2 11’


    Symphony No. 10 in E minor 57’

    Boston Symphony Orchestra
    Andris Nelsons conductor