Primary Content

  • Details

    Continuing our celebration of Nielsen’s 150th anniversary, his Second Symphony is an exercise in contrasting moods and textures – the ‘Temperaments’ of the subtitle are the Humours of Greco-Roman medicine: Choleric, Phlegmatic, Melancholic and Sanguine.

    Less familiar are Nielsen’s choral works – the swelling loveliness of Hymnus amoris, inspired by a Titian painting, and the Three Motets that pay homage to Renaissance polyphony.

    Completing the programme is Brahms’s warmly Romantic Violin Concerto, with Danish-Israeli Nikolaj Znaider.

  • Programme

    Overture ‘Helios’ 13’

    Violin Concerto in D major 40’


    Three Motets 15’

    Hymnus amoris 21’

    Symphony No. 2, ‘The Four Temperaments’ 35’

    Nikolaj Znaider violin
    Anna Lucia Richter soprano
    David Danholt tenor
    Choristers of Winchester Cathedral
    Danish National Concert Choir
    Danish National Symphony Orchestra
    Fabio Luisi conductor