Primary Content

  • Details

    The Proms’ Sibelius symphony cycle continues with the concise, intricately wrought Third and the darker Fourth – once described by conductor Herbert Blomstedt as ‘an essay in trying to be happy which fails – on purpose’. These are paired with the composer’s popular Violin Concerto with Lithuanian soloist Julian Rachlin.

    Conductor Ilan Volkov is a passionate champion of contemporary music and here premieres a new Sibelius-inspired work by Michael Finnissy – a composer whose music, though fascinatingly complex, finds real connection with politics, society and culture.

  • Programme

    Symphony No. 3 in C major 30’

    Violin Concerto in D minor 35’


    Michael Finnissy
    Janne c15’
    BBC commission: world premiere

    Symphony No. 4 in A minor 38’

    Julian Rachlin violin

    BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
    Ilan Volkov conductor