Primary Content

  • Details

    Celebrations for Sibelius’s 150th anniversary continue with a complete symphony cycle, launched by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and its new Chief Conductor Designate, Thomas Dausgaard.

    The First Symphony is prefaced by the nationalistic tone-poem Finlandia, its singing central melody composed with an ear to mass appeal as well as to political protest. The First Symphony is no apprentice work; although drawing on the legacy of Tchaikovsky and Brahms, Sibelius created something distinctively and evocatively Nordic.

    Still more sophisticated is the Second, often heard as a musical shout of grief and rage at Russian oppression.

  • Programme

    Finlandia 8’

    Symphony No. 1 in E minor 39’


    Symphony No. 2 in D major 43’

    BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
    Thomas Dausgaard conductor