Primary Content

  • Details

    Elgar’s Froissart overture throbs with national pride and swagger, while Walton’s Second Symphony sustains an altogether darker, more contemplative mood.

    Chloë Hanslip is the soloist in Vaughan Williams’s rarely heard Concerto accademico – a work whose lyrical slow movement and dancing finale are anything but ‘academic’.

    The concert also features Welsh composer Grace Williams’s ecstatic, neo-Straussian Fairest of Stars for soprano and orchestra, a musical celebration of Milton’s poetry.

  • Programme

    Spitfire Prelude and Fugue 8’

    Vaughan Williams
    Concerto accademico 17’

    Grace Williams
    Fairest of Stars 15’


    Overture ‘Froissart’ 15’

    Symphony No. 2 30’

    Chloë Hanslip violin
    Ailish Tynan soprano

    BBC National Orchestra of Wales
    Tadaaki Otaka conductor